New laws in Tennessee begin July 1

New laws in Tennessee begin July 1


BRAD THANK YOU! BRAD THANK YOU! LOCAL IN TENNESSEE. BY NOW … YOU’VE PROBABLY HEARD ABOUT TENNESSEE’S NEW CELL PHONE LAW. STARTING TODAY … IT’S ILLEGAL TO HOLD YOUR CELL PHONE IN YOUR HAND WHILE DRIVING. BUT … THERE ARE SEVERAL OTHER NEW LAWS THAT TOOK EFFECT TODAY THAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT. LOCAL 24 NEWS REPORTER TISH CLARK … IS LIVE IN THE STUDIO TO TELL US ABOUT THEM. TISH! Tish: LET’S START WITH SPORTS BETTING… A NEW LAW SAYS GAMBLING ONLINE IS OK BUT STILL ILLEGAL IN PHYSICAL LOCATIONS. THE MARCH MADNESS AND FANTASY FOOTBALL FREEDOM ACT GOES INTO EFFECT… MEANING YOU CAN PLACE LEGAL BETS ON YOUR FAVORITE TEAM OR SPORTS LEAGUE… UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES. HERE ARE A FEW OTHERS YOU MIGHT WANT TO KNOW ABOUT… TISH CLARK/REPORTING: FSC The death penalty process can seem to take a lifetime for victim’s families seeking justice. A new law would speed up that process by sending death penalty cases directly to the Tennessee Supreme Court for review and skipping the Court of Criminal Appeals step. FSC Another new law helps convicted criminals start over with a clean slate. They won’t have to pay hundreds of dollars to get their record expunged as long as they complete a diversion program. It’s all part of Tennessee’s criminal justice reform effort. FSC One bill that’s a big talker…has the LGBTQ community lashing out at lawmakers. The new law redefines a “public place” to prohibit indecent exposure as being in locker rooms, restrooms, dressing rooms, or showers designated for multi- person, single-sex use. Critics claim the law targets transgender people. FSC A federal judge has temporarily blocked a Tennessee law that requires online auctioneers to be licensed but it doesn’t affect some big auction sites like eBay. The block will be in place until at least July 11th. FSC And…great news for all you youngsters out there selling lemonade this summer… You don’t have to have a permit or license or pay a fee…to open a lemonade stand…as long as you’re a kid under 18, your stand is on private property with the owner’s permission, and you don’t make more than $3-thousand dollars a year. Tish: GOING BACK TO THAT HANDS-FREE CELL PHONE LAW… DRIVERS CAN USE AN EARPIECE, HEADPHONES, OR WRIST DEVICE TO TALK ON THE PHONE WHILE DRIVING. BREAKING THIS LAW COULD COST YOU $200 BUCKS. FINES DOUBLE IN SCHOOL AND CONSTRUCTION ZONES. COMING UP AT 6, I’VE GOT MORE NEW LAWS TAKING EFFECT IN TENNESSEE. LIVE IN THE STUDIO TISH CLARK LOCAL 24 NEWS. LOCAL 24 NEWS IS YOUR LOCAL

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *